Prepping for the Loch Ness monster

I’ve been doing a little research for my Loch Ness monster cake. I’m hoping to attempt this on Sunday, but we’ll see. I’m on call for work for a major deployment, so if things go badly then I won’t have time. I’m also supposed to be going out to see a movie on Sunday afternoon, which I’m still waiting to hear about. So, we’ll see.

I’ve found my recipe, Nigella Lawson’s Devil Food Cake (http://www.lifestylefood.com.au/recipes/14992/devils-food-cake), thanks to MasterChef for pointing me in that direction. I’m going to use a vanilla buttercream (http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/2009/07/twelve-frosted-cupcakes-just-one-stick-of-butter-promise/)
rather than cream cheese. I’m sure a devil’s food cake would be absolutely fantastic with a chocolate buttercream, but I need a white icing so I can colour it.

Problem is, Nigella’s cake recipe is for two 20cm round sandwich tins, and I want my cake to be big, really big! Well, that all depends on if I can find a decent sized rectangular sheet cake pan on Saturday. I would have bought one online, but I didn’t start thinking about the pan until Wednesday, and by then I have had to have some serious luck to get it here before the weekend. So I need to figure out how to convert my sandwich tin recipe into a sheet sized recipe. I’m thinking I’ll just double it and see how it goes. I found this chart that can be used to convert between sizes – http://www.joyofbaking.com/PanSizes.html – but doubling and hoping for the best should work fine for me.

I have no idea how to convert the baking time as well! Apparently:

If the new pan makes the batter shallower than in the original recipe, this will cause the heat to reach the center of the pan more quickly and you will have more evaporation. To solve this problem you need to shorten the baking time and raise the temperature of the oven slightly. Correspondingly, if the new pan makes the batter deeper than in the original recipe, this will cause less evaporation and the batter will take longer to cook. To solve this problem you need to lengthen the baking time and lower the temperature of the oven slightly. This will keep the batter from over-browning.

Read more:http://www.joyofbaking.com/PanSizes.html#ixzz1QAseOhlP

Sounds easy, right?!

Leave a Reply

