RSPCA Cupcake Day Trial Run

This year, on Monday 15th August, I’ll be bringing a ton of cupcakes to work to sell for gold coin donations to the RSPCA. Last year I brought in a fair few cupcakes and raised about $100, and this year I’m hoping to top that. So it’s time to think about what I want to make and how I want them to look… because I want them to be fabulous! The only drag is that even if they look fabulous, people will still want to get away with just giving me $1 for one, and I’ll shoot them a dirty look and think that they’re cheap… but anyway. It’s for a good cause : )

I had a fair bit of white chocolate clay leftover from the Harry Potter cake I made the other week, so I decided to have a go at making some animal figurines to use for RSPCA Cupcake Day. I experimented with a few different poses for dogs and cats, added some ducks, a mouse and a rabbit.

Animal cupcakes

Animal cupcakes

I then baked up a batch of Raspberry and Almond cupcakes, and topped them with white chocolate buttercream. While this buttercream is quite tasty, the cupcakes really would have been better with the recommended chocolate ganache, or even a chocolate buttercream. I used the buttercream because I wanted a light coloured frosting so that I could colour it blue for water and green for grass.

I think the ducks are my favourite of the lot. I used yellow cupcake cases, dyed the frosting blue for water, and added some blue piping gel on top. The ducks themselves were pretty easy and fast to make, so these are definitely winners. I experimented with some different types of eyes, but I think I’ll just go for the plain small black eyes, rather than the black on white. I also want to make them a little smaller than these ones are.

Chocolate animal group photo

Chocolate animal group photo

I tried a few different poses for cats, but I just couldn’t get them to look good. The sitting cat is a little too fiddly to mass produce, and the one laying on its tummy just doesn’t look right to me, even though I saw heaps of photos where it looks good. I think my proportions were just all wrong. I don’t mind the cat half laying on its side, it looks just like a stuffed white tiger I have from DreamWorld. I also had trouble painting on whiskers onto the cat faces. I don’t want to make the whiskers from chocolate clay as it’s too fiddly. I mixed some black Wilton paste with a little vodka, but the colour just beaded and became kind of blotchy. It also didn’t dry, which I found out a few days later when I moved them and got little black stripes on my fingers. I’m going to try some powdered colour with vodka, but I need to order it first.

Cat and mouse

Cat and mouse

The mouse in the foreground of the photo was one of the last ones I made. It was actually very, very simple to make. I made a small ball of brown tinted chocolate clay, then shaped it into a log, then pointed one end. Add a tail, some round ears, eyes and a nose, and instant mouse! You could also add some whiskers too if you wanted.

For the dogs, I tried a sitting pose, which was just as fiddly as the cat sitting pose, as it’s practically the same thing. I also made one in the drop position, but again, legs are annoying to make. I like the begging ones the best, but they do stand rather high on the cupcake, so I’ll try and make them a little smaller.

Begging dog

Begging dog

The rabbit was also very quick and easy to make… I got the idea from Little Wheelz, and I loved it. These are also simple to make quite small.

Rabbit

Rabbit

So I think the winners are… the duck, the rabbit, and the mouse. I’ll make some cats and some begging dogs as well, but those are more work than the other three. And I decided that I won’t put a topper on every cupcake, because that’s just too much work. I got some paw print chocolate moulds that I’ve yet to try, so maybe I’ll make some plain dark chocolate paws. Hopefully the people at work will appreciate them and I’ll raise lots of money this year : )

Leave a Reply

