Barbecued Octopus and Chorizo Salad (02 / 50)

After I posted that photo of the chocolate cherry cheesecake onto my Facebook wall, I got a couple of complaints from my friends. It seems that my New Year’s resolutions to cook 50 new recipes and improve my photography were wreaking havoc with their resolutions to improve their eating habits. Not really my problem, but I promised I would find something healthy-ish for my second recipe. I’m not sure how healthy chorizo is, but the dish has the word “salad” in its name, so I think it must be somewhat healthy. Shush, I’m sticking to my logic.

I left out the capers, because I don’t like them, and I used dried oregano because I’m too cheap to buy a bunch of fresh oregano when I only need a tiny amount. I only put in 500g of baby octopus because there were only two of us eating, but I think 800g is good for 4 people.

Barbecued Octopus and Chorizo Salad

Serves 4
Preparation time –  10 minutes
Cooking time – 5 minutes
Recipe – http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/21412/barbecued+octopus+and+chorizo+salad

  • 800g baby octopus, cleaned, halved
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tbs finely chopped oregano
  • 2 tbs lemon juice
  • 2 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 chorizo sausage, thinly sliced
  • 1 red onion, cut into wedges
  • 100g baby rocket leaves

Combine the octopus, garlic, paprika, oregano, half the lemon juice and half the oil in a large bowl. Season with pepper. Cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 15 minutes to marinate.

Preheat a barbecue or char-grill pan on high. Add the chorizo and cook for 1 minute each side or until golden. Transfer to a plate lined with paper towel. Reduce heat to low and add the onion. Cook, turning occasionally, for 2 minutes or until onion is soft and just starting to caramelise. Transfer to a plate.

Place the octopus on the barbecue and cook, turning occasionally, for 2 minutes or until just cooked through. Remove from heat and set aside for 5 minutes to rest.

Combine remaining lemon juice and oil in a bowl and season with salt and pepper. Arrange rocket, chorizo, onion and capers on serving plates. Top with octopus and drizzle with dressing. Serve immediately.

Barbecued Octopus and Chorizo Salad

Barbecued Octopus and Chorizo Salad

Leave a Reply

