Chargrilled Lime and Garlic Balmain Bugs (03 / 50)

I think it’s kind of cheating to use this as my second recipe. As recipes go, it’s pretty simple. However I’m going to include it anyway, because I’ve never cooked Balmain Bugs before, and I’ve never used the barbecue before! I’m a firm believer that the barbecue is the man’s territory, so my husband does the barbecuing while I make the salads (and dessert of course). The one and only time I had people over for a barbecue while he was out was for my hen’s party, and I made my male friends cook the food. Not very good hostessing on my part, but I wasn’t about to abandon my beliefs, not when a barbecue is the only time I get my dinner cooked for me!

I bought my Balmain bugs from the local fish market and could only get frozen ones. I imagine they are a lot better when bought fresh, but these were pretty tasty. I wasn’t entirely sure how to prepare them, so I ended up just cutting them in two lengthwise with a cleaver and a pair of kitchen scissors. I removed the vein with a knife and rinsed out the halves out gently before brushing on the butter sauce. They cooked nice and quickly on our crappy barbecue with just a single turn after 3 or so minutes.

Chargrilled Lime and Garlic Balmain Bugs

Serves 4-8 (depending on how many halves you want to serve each person)
Preparation time –  10 minutes
Cooking time – 5 minutes
Recipe – http://womansday.ninemsn.com.au/food/everydayrecipes/994683/chargrilled-lime-and-garlic-balmain-bugs

Ingredients

  • 8 uncooked Balmain bugs, heads removed
  • 60g butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated lime rind, and lime wedge

Spray a barbecue or chargrill with oil. Preheat on high.

Slice Balmain bugs in half lengthways. Carefully remove the centre vein from tail, using the point of a knife.

In a small jug, whisk together butter, lime juice, garlic and lime rind. Brush bugs with butter mixture and season to taste.

Barbecue for 3-5 minutes each side, or until golden and cooked through. Serve Balmain bugs with lime wedges.

Chargrilled lime and garlic Balmain bugs

Chargrilled lime and garlic Balmain bugs

Leave a Reply

